Dead Simple – One-page Fantasy RPG!

Well here it is, the original and one and only one page Fantasy RPG, plus its current supplements 🙂

The core rules in Dead Simple are used in most of the variants you will find in this blog. The system is fairly robust, and very easy to learn, but does require you to use a modicum of common sense.

Being just one page the rules do not cover everything. They expect you to fill in those blanks yourself as the situation arises. In other words I am treating you as adults and not laying it all out at your feet 😉

Here are the core rules:

Dead Simple Fantasy RPG Rules Third Edition

The first adventure for your new heroes:

Dead Simple – The Tomb of St.Magnus Part 1

Guidance on how to run games of Dead Simple:

Supplement 1 – Dead Simple Game Mastering

Dungeons, dungeons, dungeons! Lots of ideas of how to build them and how to use them:

Supplement 2 – Going Underground

The rich plunder of the ancients:

Supplement 3 – Loot!

Shopping as a roleplaying:

Supplement 4 – The Marketplace

The original setting for Dead Simple:

Supplement 5 The Village of Grobblet

Monsters, monsters, everywhere:

Supplement 6A The Denizens of the Dark

Supplement 6B Dark Forests…

Supplement 6C Death is only the beginning…

How to design a city in ten minutes and then get people lost in it:

Supplement 7 – The Big City!

And there is much more to come…

About Craig

For those who need to know these things: - I'll never see 50 again. - I'm tall enough to see well in crowds and fat enough to leave a wake. - I'm well married to a woman with twice my smarts, three delightful and challenging children (er-hem), and one cat overlord. - I am Welsh. - I have to work for a living, but do nothing that makes me perspire.
This entry was posted in Dead Simple RPG. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dead Simple – One-page Fantasy RPG!

  1. Ville from Finland says:

    Hello there. I recently found Dead Simple and I am dying to try it out (and waiting for more updates too:D) Thank you for making this.

    I have a question about the character equipment – What are the PC’s supposed to do with three sea shells? They really didnt have any significant hisorical use past jewelry or very, very crude cutlery. Or bowls, though i doubt sea shells our PC’s would pick up would be that big. Is this supposed to be “demolition man” reference? in near future they dont have toilet paper so…

    Please, tell me, this has been puzzling me for days!

  2. Craig says:

    You are very welcome 🙂
    The three seas-shells he he he … 😀
    You are completely correct. In the last ten years I have published at least twenty sets of RPG rules and in most of them I include the three sea shells just for fun, but no-one has mentioned this until now – well done!

  3. Xaeth says:

    Weren’t there three sea shells in the movie Demolition Man?

  4. Per says:

    Hi Craig. I must say that I like the light-weight rules of Dead Simple and I really appreciate your work. I haven’t played tabletop rpg for many years by now, but the simple yet cool rules of Dead Simple really makes me feel inspired to start up this old hobby of mine again. 🙂

    Could you please explain the ‘haste’ spell a bit more? I don’t really get what it is intended to be used for.

    Is there any official character sheet?

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

  5. Craig says:

    Hi Per,
    If you caste haste you can move once in the movement phase, then again in the magic phase.

    I’m sure we had a sheet somewhere, I’ll dig around.
    Cheers,
    Craig.

  6. Per says:

    Hi again Craig,
    Thanks for your quick answer, even though I’ve been on vacation and haven’t been able to read it until now.. 🙂

    Regarding the character sheet. I made some effort to put something together, and you’ll find it here: http://www.perfx.se/rpg/ds-character-sheet.pdf
    We haven’t yet had the time to use it in a real adventure, but still someone may find it useful.

  7. Craig says:

    What a wonderful sheet – thank you Per!
    Would you mind if I put this in the Dead Simple Rules downloads?

  8. Per says:

    No problem. Just let me know if you want me to do any changes before you put it there. 🙂

    • Craig says:

      I think that it’s good to go Per.
      I’ve just checked to be sure your name was copyrighted at the bottom – good.
      Let’s put it up 🙂

  9. Pingback: Tuesday, February 11

  10. Adhinferno says:

    This is…… SIMPLY PERFECT! ^o^b I always wanted to play a simple RPG since i don’t have plenty of time lately . I always make my own game since I am graduate from elementary school. But you know, I am always craving to taste the game the others create. Variation is a spice of life after all. Anyway, great job for making this simple yet complex RPG. The system is always growing along with my campaign progress (^_^)v

Leave a Reply

