Blaster 4.2

Well my good people, and you at the back, I have been working recently on a new version of Blaster!, the generic Sci-Fi roleplaying game. This is because I am currently running a campaign using these rules with my local group.

Already play over three sessions has led me to develop new medical treatment rules, a new method for taking skill checks, a simple saving throw mechanic, an overhaul of the combat rules and to add two new professions.

I have wrapped the rules, the setting and a character sheet into a single five-page document and I think that it is about ready for you all to see. That said I expect it to develop more as the test stretch the boundaries of playability with it.

Here is version 4.2: Blaster – Simple SciFi Roleplaying Version 4-2

If this all works then I may well transfer the lessons learned to other titles in the Dead Simple series. So I’d love to hear feedback from you all.

About Craig

For those who need to know these things: - I'll never see 50 again. - I'm tall enough to see well in crowds and fat enough to leave a wake. - I'm well married to a woman with twice my smarts, three delightful and challenging children (er-hem), and one cat overlord. - I am Welsh. - I have to work for a living, but do nothing that makes me perspire.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Blaster SF RPG. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blaster 4.2

  1. Max says:

    Just a quick question: I might start a Dead Simple-based campaign soon. My only gamesmastering experience so far is from D&D 4e. Now I know the basics as in no rules for everything etc, but there’s one specific question I have: it appears to me that movement speeds in Dead Simple are far greater than in D&D. Should I go for significantly larger encounter areas, or is this not really a problem? The specific system I was leaning towards was SOE21, so that probably means plenty of ranged weapons. Should I try to compensate for this extensively in encounter design, or does it sort of solve itself (as in, ranged weapons just fundamentally change combat, there’s nothing you could or should do about it)?

  2. Craig says:

    Movement speeds are greater as we are considering what an average person can cover in ten seconds. A character with a speed of 6 could move 9x2m squares, not a great distance at all really. The weapon ranges in the rules are the effective ranges, not the maximums, so yes you could expand your encounter distances to those more like real life.
    However, the concept behind the Dead Simple series is to put the creative power in your hands. So try the rules out and then amend/improve anything that you don’t like. If you find something that works better your way please come back and tell us here. But always remember the KISS principle.
    When running a good dead Simple game I have found that people start to forget using dice rolls and begin actual roleplaying instead of the ‘enhanced skirmish wargaming experience’ that many ‘RPGs’ now promote. The key in this is to ask them what they want to do and how they think that they shall achieve it, not ‘roll your perception skill’.
    Please feel free to ask more questions if you wish 🙂
    Craig.

Leave a Reply

