Draft 5th Edition for Dead Simple

Ladies and gentlemen,

After a number of suggestions by some of your comrades in arms, and revisiting the classic D&D tropes I have made a number of significant changes to Dead Simple. Enough to make it the 5th Edition.

savage_sword_of_conan_017-02

The first is to move to a two-column, two-page format. This allows for larger, more legible text and gave me room to add a few things. If you double-side it though you shall still get it on a single piece of paper though.

We have two new races, the crafty gnome and deadly half-orc. These round out the classic fantasy roleplaying races.

Improving adventurers has moved from a cash-based system to one where the GM awards successful parties with Destiny Points. These can be used to pay for die rerolls, or saved up to buy improvements as before. I like the the ability to pay for rerolls as it sets the adventurers apart from the common man or woman. They are heroes in whom the gods have an interest.

There are now thirty-two Wizard spells, a dozen more than before giving the humble spell slinger a more interesting role in the party.

I hope that you agree that all of these changes and additions adds nothing to the complexity of play but does give players a little more variety.

If I were to add a few more professions. such as rangers and monks, and their unique professional abilities, this would take us into a third page and I’m not sure it would add much to the playing of the game.

You can find a copy of the draft 5th Edition in the Rules Downloads page.
So what do you all think?

About Craig

For those who need to know these things: - I'll never see 50 again. - I'm tall enough to see well in crowds and fat enough to leave a wake. - I'm well married to a woman with twice my smarts, three delightful and challenging children (er-hem), and one cat overlord. - I am Welsh. - I have to work for a living, but do nothing that makes me perspire.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Dead Simple RPG. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Draft 5th Edition for Dead Simple

  1. Tom Mason says:

    Fantastic! Life is hectic right now with a 1 year old at home, but I am so eager to run these rules at my first opportunity and love what you’ve done with Dead Simple. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

