A WYSIWYG example character

dab2gnomeillusionistthief

An example WYSIWYG character.

I have chosen an excellent little Underworld Miniatures Gnome Illusionist figure.

Following the rules I must now write down his equipment:

  • Adventurer’s clothing with good boots, hat and cloak,
  • A belt and cross-belt covered in pouches, and
  • A short sword.

Now I choose six abilities for him:

  1. The Gnome racial ability, giving him Dextrous and Woodland Lore.
  2. The Wizard professional ability, giving him Arcane Magic and +3 to task checks to cast arcane spells.
  3. Clever.
  4. Literate.
  5. Weapon training with his Short Sword.
  6. Lore, Arcane.

As he has the Arcane Magic ability I get to choose three spells:

  1. Fire Bolt,
  2. Levitate, and
  3. Circle of Light (which he usually casts on a large rock crystal he carries).

I also have 25 coins to spend, so I buy a Healing Potion, two scroll cases and a waterskin.

I think that I shall call him ‘Mystic Max’.

The whole process took less than five minutes and produced an interesting and useful character.

About Craig

For those who need to know these things: - I'll never see 50 again. - I'm tall enough to see well in crowds and fat enough to leave a wake. - I'm well married to a woman with twice my smarts, three delightful and challenging children (er-hem), and one cat overlord. - I am Welsh. - I have to work for a living, but do nothing that makes me perspire.
This entry was posted in WYSIWYG. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A WYSIWYG example character

  1. Jon says:

    Interesting stuff. Would all characters be able to make two attackes every turn as with Double Trouble, even 2 shooting attacks? And magic users cast two spells in a turn?
    Do you think the initiative and actions system would also work in DS?

    • Craig says:

      Hi Jon,
      I’m still working this one through and there are lots of shadowy corners and rough edges. Where I have used the two action per turn system before I’ve allowed two fighting actions, but only one shooting action as you have to reload your bow/sling or ready another throwing weapon. I think the magic section actually says only one spell per turn.
      DS is deliberately very simple so the initiative and actions systems might be a bit much for it as it stands, though this does not stop you using it in your own version. I’ll give it, and your other suggestions, some thought this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

