Fifth Edition arrives!

Ladies, Gentlemen and Goblins various,

Today I present to you the fifth edition of the Dead Simple Fantasy RPG. It has been several months in the planning and has gone through several iterations. Quite a few of you have been kind enough to comment and make suggestions during this period and I would like to thank you all.

Jon Gilbert even went as far as to create a whole extra set of rules which would be better called ‘Advanced Dead Simple’. I’m still considering your ideas Jon and we will probably end up collaborating on producing ADS for the players of this game.

5th Edition though keeps to my core principle of KISS, though you will notice quite a few subtle and not so subtle changes. The first is that it is no longer a single page that older folk like me have to read in good light and with a magnifying glass. It is three pages of A4 (sorry USA) in a larger font and two columns.

The second is that I have imported the marketplace supplement into the rules, which means that players now have everything they need to get going. There is also a new section on Adventurer’s companions, and I shall be very interested to hear what people think of them.

In the main rules there have been a number of significant changes:
1. Attributes; in comes Agility. I think that this rounds out the attributes quite nicely and is a logical addition.
2. Skill; Agility goes, as it is now an attribute. Speed is replaced by the more useful Mobility, which covers all movement types. The addition of the Agility attribute allowed me to reorganise the aptitudes. Now there is no skill that shares an aptitude bonus with any other.
3. Skill check; this has been moved to the Rules of Play section.
4. Races; we now have Half-Orcs and Gnomes to give a bit more variety.
5. Professions; I have added the Ranger.
6. Improving adventurers; I now allow characters to buy training rather than just save up Destiny points. This is a nice way for GMs to soak up large amounts of loot.
7. Spells; I have reviewed the spells and removed those that were just duplicates in their actual effect. I have also tidied up the writing.
8. Rules of Play; there is a significant change in how we run combat, so read this section carefully. I think it is more balanced than before.
9. Saving throws; a new section that deals with all those opportunities adventurers have to die outside of combat.

So there you go, it’s over to you now to let me know if I am a genius or an idiot (I expect a bit of both). Of course you do not have to play 5th Edition at all, I am not Wizards or GW 😀 If people like it then I shall begin the long task of rewriting the supplements to match.

About Craig

For those who need to know these things: - I'll never see 50 again. - I'm tall enough to see well in crowds and fat enough to leave a wake. - I'm well married to a woman with twice my smarts, three delightful and challenging children (er-hem), and one cat overlord. - I am Welsh. - I have to work for a living, but do nothing that makes me perspire.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Dead Simple RPG. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fifth Edition arrives!

  1. Angry Monk says:

    Can’t wait to check it out. Thanks, Craig!

  2. Snorb says:

    Looks great! Can’t wait to see Busiris with the 5e system!

  3. Ciroe says:

    Forgive me, total newb trying to organize a campaign for total newbs… what is the function or purpose of the Ignite spell when the Firebolt spell has the same effect? I’m trying to imagine why one would want to have Ignite in their spellbook

    • Craig says:

      Hi Ciroe,

      Because not all Wizards are bolt-slinging pyromaniacs, some are more subtle in their arson 🙂

      And you do not need forgiveness as there is no such thing as a stupid question, just a stupid answer (see above).

      Cheers,
      Craig

  4. Ciroe says:

    Follow-up Question, I’ve been practicing the ruleset with a single player, and we thought it made more sense (for us, anyway) to have shields apply as +defense when rolling to avoid an an attack, but have armor apply as +toughness when taking damage. In other words your armor wouldn’t help you avoid an attack, but it helps protect you from a wound if you do get hit. What do you think about this? In fact I even thought that very heavy armor might make you easier to be hit (-defense) but make up for it with high +toughness value. Your thoughts?

  5. Pyreball was one of the coolest spells I ever read about… Pyres were those wooden stages upon which witches got burned…

  6. David Johnston says:

    Could we get access to the Jon Gilbert supplements?

  7. Rush Wingate says:

    I LOVE this system! Any chance on seeing a new updated character sheet?

Leave a Reply

