Denizens of the Dark for Fifth Edition

Can you remember the first time you and your companions lit torches and ventured underground? I can, it was 1975, I was sixteen and we were being DM’d by a Canadian AirForce brat (I was an RAF brat). We came across four goblins playing with dice in a chamber underneath a ruined keep and we very nearly crapped ourselves. A short fight later our Wizard was dead, but so were the goblins.

As Fifth Edition starts to grow the next supplement to get the upgrade is Denizens of the dark. Now you can pit your players against a range of dastardly, low level foes in the under-earth.

The Dwarves of the under-earth are avaricious and small-minded. More concerned with gold and gems than their surface kin, they regard adventurers as little better than thieves. Living in an unforgiving environment where most things either want to eat them or take their stuff, they have a tendency to fire first and ask questions of the survivors.

One of the reasons for their nervousness is the presence of Orcs. Not overly bright they are nonetheless not to be underestimated for they are both tough and savage. A patrol of orcs is more than a match for a low-level party on its first expedition into the under-earth, especially if they bring an ogre with them.

Another savage denizen of the dark are the goblins. These are cunning and well-organised, something that offsets their small size and lack of strength. Many a party has underestimated the goblins and never returned to the light of the sun.

goblins

Deeper in the under-earth, often close to volcanic vents you may find tribes of kobolds. They regard themselves as the children of dragons and can be very aggressive for a race so small. Although they do not use metal weapons they make up for this with fell magic and their ability to tame deadly fire serpents.

The last part of this supplement lists a few classic dungeon monsters; giant rats, giant spiders and giant scorpions.

My next venture shall be to upgrade Supplement 6C, Death is only the beginning…

About Craig

For those who need to know these things: - I'll never see 50 again. - I'm tall enough to see well in crowds and fat enough to leave a wake. - I'm well married to a woman with twice my smarts, three delightful and challenging children (er-hem), and one cat overlord. - I am Welsh. - I have to work for a living, but do nothing that makes me perspire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Denizens of the Dark for Fifth Edition

  1. Sean Jensen says:

    Supplement 6C, please.

  2. Sean Jensen says:

    WoooHooo!

    • Craig says:

      Hmm… life does seem to be getting in the way – my apologies. I have put some time aside for writing tomorrow, so I’ll see if I can’t complete it then.

  3. Todd says:

    Could someone email me an example of combat? We are running into some confusion as to how this works… Thank you so much!

  4. Toro says:

    Craig your writing is a true inspiration. You have not posted in awhile hope all is well, If you have more dungeon ideas I would love to read them.

    • David says:

      I agree with Toro. I just discovered your blog and feel creatively inspired. You’re work is great. I really hope you haven’t abandoned us.

      • Craig says:

        I have not abandoned you, David & Toro πŸ™‚ I’m just in the middle of finishing our latest skirmish wargame – Blood Eagle – for publication.
        Meanwhile, I have been running a weekly DSRPG campaign which is filling up my notebooks with new ideas.

  5. David says:

    So great to hear you’re still here, Craig! You’re the man!

Leave a Reply

